Nail on the head- Bringing down my 5k time

Father Ted, looks like rain Ted GIF
Looks like rain Ted!

Well here we are, a day before  the 18th of December, the day I set most recently as my goal to get down to a 25 minute 5K run. Back in September I was very optimistic and set the date as 10th of October. Unfortunately, we had a number of hiccups along the way and in November I set the target as the 18th of December. Not least were my 3 running companions; Barney, Clodagh and Desmond. They did everything in their power to slow me down. For anyone who isn’t aware, Barney, Clodagh and Desmond are the names of the storms that have hit Ireland recently with merciless wind and rain of biblical proportions. At times I questioned whether it was appropriate to be out running in it or would my time be better spent building an ark.

I decided to stick with the training, and thankfully I did, because ahead of schedule, I made it! On Tuesday I hit the 25 minute 5k. However, I hit the C25K in 25 minutesnail on the head, check out the splits below; it was exactly 25 minutes! Quite bizarre but technically it is where I wanted to be.

Now, as my wife said when I returned home delighted with myself; “do it again if you’re so good!” Time to set a new goal! In the meantime, it’ll be Saturday before I get out again so need to make sure I keep the wife happy!

One thing that is bothering me slightly is my footwear. I’d a decent pair of running shoes that have just worn out. I decided to try the running shoes from Aldi for €20. While they seem to provide good support, I’m getting some pains in my feet and legs that I never had before. Not sure if this is just from a different shoe or the fact that I’m pushing myself harder than before. I’ll have to monitor it closely over the coming weeks.

Watch this space for an update on the shoes and a new goal!

C25K in 25 minutes

Leave a comment